The Jewish Week is always here for you.
We need your support now.
Your contribution will help us bring you vital news
and frequent updates about the impact of COVID-19.
National Jewish Book Awards Announced

National Jewish Book Awards Announced

Sandee is the arts and culture editor at the Jewish Week.

Yossi Klein Halevi’s “Like Dreamers” was named the 2013 Jewish Book of the Year by the Jewish Book Council. The National Jewish Book Awards were announced in 17 categories, with Klein and other Israelis winning key prizes.

Amos Oz won the fiction prize for his novel, “Between Friends,” Ari Shavit won in history for “My Promised Land,” and Moshe Halbertal received the Scholarship award for “Maimonides: Life and Thought.”

Other awardees include Phyllis Chesler for her memoir, “An American Bride in Kabul,” Rabbi Jonathan Sacks for “The Koren Pesach Machzor” in the category of Modern Jewish Thought and Experience, and Michal Smart and Barbara Ashkenas for “Kaddish: Women’s Voices” in Contemporary Jewish Life and Practice. In Visual Arts, Alexander Gorlin won for “Kabbalah in Art and Architecture.”

For Outstanding Debut Fiction, Kenneth Bonert won for “The Lion Seeker,” and in Poetry, Peter Waldor won for his collection, “Settlement House.”

The 63rd annual National Jewish Book Awards will be presented at a ceremony on March 5th at the Center for Jewish History in Manhattan.

The Jewish Book Council features the complete listing of awards, including winners and finalists, on their website.

read more: