Jewish Week Editor, Columnist Honored By Jewish Book Council

Jewish Week Editor, Columnist Honored By Jewish Book Council

Francine Klagsbrun takes top honor for Golda Meir biography, and Gary Rosenblatt recognized for mentoring young journalists.

Francine Klagsbrun and Gary Rosenblatt
Francine Klagsbrun and Gary Rosenblatt

The Jewish Week’s editor, and one of the paper’s columnists are recipients of 2017 honors from the Jewish Book Council.

The Council has announced that Francine Klagsbrun’s “Lioness: Golda Meir and the Nation of Israel (Schocken Books), was named the Everett Family Foundation’s Book of the Year, awarded by the Council. Klagsbrun is a longtime columnist for the Jewish Week. (Read our review of “Lioness” here.)

Present at the creation: In “Lioness,” Francine Klagsbrun chronicles the arc of Golda Meir’s life, from Milwaukee to the halls of the Knesset. Courtesy of Joan Roth

And Gary Rosenblatt, editor and publisher of The Jewish Week, was named recipient of the first Carolyn Starman Hessel Mentorship Award. This award recognizes his support and mentorship of Jewish authors and journalists.

Other winners of the 2017 National Jewish Book Awards, now in its 67th year, include:

  • David E. Fishman, who won the inaugural Holocaust Award in Memory of Ernest W. Michel, for “The Book Smugglers: Partisans, Poets, and the Race to Save Jewish Treasures from the Nazis(ForeEdge), which focuses on the resistance group known as the “paper brigade.”
  • David Grossman, who won the JJ Greenberg Fiction Award for “A Horse Walks into A Bar(Alfred A. Knopf).
  • Rachel Kadish, who won The Miller Family Book Club Award for The Weight of Ink(Houghton Mifflin Harcourt).
  • Carol Zoref, who won the Goldberg Prize for Debut Fiction for “Barren Island(New Issues Poetry & Prose/Western Michigan University).
  • Dr. Edith Eva Egers, who won in the Biography, Autobiography, and Memoir category for “The Choice: Embrace the Possible(Scribner).
  • Alicia Suskin Ostriker, who won in the Poetry category for “Waiting for the Light” (University of Pittsburgh Press).

The winners will be honored March 6 at a dinner at the Prince George Ballroom in Manhattan. For information: (212) 201-2920.

read more: